Skip to content

No Germs Please!

November 5, 2009

At the beginning of my journey to a healthier lifestyle, I  began wondering what effect disinfectant sprays and cloths have on our bodies.  I often see advertisements that have a mom spraying her children’s toys off with the spray to disinfect them.  It always made me cringe because you know it’s going to dry on there.  Kids are infamous for shoving things in their mouths and touching things and putting their hands in their mouths.  All I can think is that those dried on disinfectants may have killed the germs,but now the chemicals could come off in a chid’s mouth.  That’s so gross!

A recent article about toxic household chemicals explains that scientists don’t actually know how harmful household chemicals are.  They are able to tell how many volatile organic compounds are present in the air.  In their study, Lysol Disinfectant Spray came in 1,000 times higher than Clorox.  With the line of products I’m converting to, I found a disinfectant spray that is made with all-natural ingredients.  So basically, when if I wanted to spray it on toys, pet supplies, or countertops, I could be assured that even if it dried and went into the mouth of my child or pet, it would be ok.  Knowing that I can protect my house from germs without using harsh chemicals is comforting!

h1n1 natural disinfectantLast night, I found out that the EPA recently confirmed that this company’s disinfectant spray kills the H1N1 virus.  I just saw a commercial for Lysol that was talking about how it kills the H1N1 virus, and I thought “Here we go, this is going to be the newest marketing technique.”  I’ve always been skeptical about flu season.  I take a million vitamins, wash my hands, and try to stay away from sick people.  I’m afraid of the flu vaccines and have yet to get one. However, when I think about it, I realize that H1N1 is a legitimate concern for everyone.  Not everyone is a skeptic like me; most people WANT to know about products that are going to aid their search for protection from the flu.  When I heard that this non-toxic, eco-friendly version of common household disinfectants works just as well as its chemically loaded counterparts, I was so excited to write my new blog! People need to know about these things! So if you’re one of those people who is looking for a strong yet safe disinfectant, get ahold of me.  I would love to tell you how you can get yourself some!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

