Skip to content

Natural Flu Remedy Trial

November 19, 2009

Over the past three weeks, I’ve been focusing on flu season.  It’s kind of hard not to when it’s right there in your face.  For me, this is quite literally true.  In the midst of launching my blog, buidling my business, and  cleaning up silly putty in MD, my boyfriend planned a trip to TX for the two of us to visit his family.  Well, while we were there, we were able to spend time with his 2 year old son.  Now, of course it is my luck that in the 2 weeks prior to our TX trip, I let my hectic schedule get to me, and I was not keeping up with my vitamins. I remembered to take them once a day maybe every other day….if that. This really disappointed me because the benefits I had been seeing when taking my vitamins regularly for 6 weeks were starting to diminish.  This set me up to be a prime target for the flu.

So, it just figures that when we got to TX, my boyfriend’s son had a runny nose.  He had just gotten the H1N1 vaccine, and his nose would not stop running!  There is not enough hand sanitizer or soap in the world to protect a person from the flu when constantly wiping up snot from little kids.  I carried my sanitizer around in my pocket, but it didn’t even have time to dry before I was pulling out another tissue.  I have always loved children, and my only dream in life is to be a mom, but when it comes to sickness, I sincerely admire all of the mommies who are able to do it and not get sick. I immediately began taking my vitamins twice a day as directed, but I started to notice that my throat was scratchy.  The next morning my throat and ear were sore, and my sinuses were congested.  For a milisecond, I wondered if you could catch Swine Flu from a person who just got the vaccine. OK,  I know that’s totally ridiculous. I just really hate to be sick! (Click here to find out what’s in the h1n1 vaccine and how it works. )

So, I decided to see how the natural tips worked.  I filled up a plastic cup with warm salt water and kept it in the bathroom.  I gargled with salt water throughout the day.  Twice a day I dripped salt water into my nose. I drank hot tea like it was my job and chugged Emergen C four times a day (I made sure to buy the Pink kind because 50% of the profits go to Breast Cancer research).  I also got plenty of rest when I could.  I have to say.  The salt water nose treatment really relieved my symptoms. I actually kind of enjoyed it because of the relief it gave me. So, on my fourth day of feeling yucky, I realized that although my face felt like it could explode, I had no fever, no chills, no body aches, and my sore throat was gone after a day.  I’m pretty sure that means that my cold wasn’t as bad as it could have been.
I decided to focus on treating my one symptom, the congested head.  Now, I know my sickness doesn’t sound THAT bad, but my sinus pressure really was.   My face was swollen and my eyelids swelled so big they drooped over my eyes.  I went out and bought one of those saline nose sprays thinking that the “spray” would be more effective than my drip. I usually use Simply Saline but decided on a less expensive generic type. I didn’t even make it out of the parking lot before I was trying it.  I tilted my head back, shoved the tip up my nose and squeezed as hard as I could! The taste that flooded down my throat was surely not that of simply saline!  It was the most bitter, disgusting thing I had ever tasted.  I guess the generic brand has more than salt and water in it.

When I told my boyfriend’s mom what happened, she suggested that I try a middle ground.  We mixed up a batch of homemade warm salt water that I was able to sniff up my nose.  I know it sounds strange, but after two doses, I was feeling much better. I could breathe clearly, and my headache was fading.  I’ve been sick now for a little under a week, but I’m starting to feel better. I’m still a little tired, but my sinus pressure is clearing up.  I think I would try these remedies again, but next time, I need to try to catch it before I’m already sick.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

