Skip to content

A Fresh Face Forward

December 10, 2009

When I was in high school, I was fortunate enough to not have a problem with acne.  Apparently, the luck has worn off.  Now that I’m just shy of 25 years old, I have more breakouts than I ever have in my life.  I started using a skin care system from my mom, the Mary Kay consultant. I like it, but it really doesn’t offer any help for my pimple problem.  So, when I placed my order with my green company this month, I selected their acne defense system that is comparable to, yet far less expensive than, Proactiv.

Step one was an acne wash. The first thing I noticed was the slightly fruity, fresh scent. Other than that it was just a nice bubbly face wash. The second step was an astringent. I didn’t want to put it on my whole face for fear of drying it out, so I applied it to the areas where I usually break out like my chin and along my hairline. It was like wiping ice cubes across my face! The only way I could think to describe it was ZING! It was shocking but in a refreshing way. The third step was a spot treatment cream. This I used only where I actually have a zit. For about fifteen minutes after I applied it, I could still feel it tingling deep into my skin.

Ironically, when my boyfriend, David , woke up today, he came down and said, “My nose hurts!” I looked at it, and he had a huge, red, blind zit right on the tip of his nose. Lucky for him, I was bursting at the seams to have someone else try my new acne treatment system. So, I sent him up to the bathroom with specific instructions to follow steps 1, 2 and 3. I told him about the icy cool astringent, the ZING, and the tingle, and he rolled his eyes at me. Haha! I heard the water running, and a few minutes later I heard him at the top of the steps. I yelled up and asked if he felt the ZING, but he said no. Whatever, he just doesn’t like to admit when I’m right. He got to the bottom of the stairs and looked in the mirror and said, “Ew! But it did do this!” He came over and showed me that the system had caused the mucous in his big, red zit to make its way out. I accused him of picking at it, but he didn’t squeeze it once. And he didn’t need to. He just wiped it off with a tissue. He said, “You better add this to your blog.”

Most acne systems warn you that they will make your acne look worse for a bit while the fluids work their way out of the tissue, but I have never heard of anything working that quickly. I, personally, think it’s because the company I order from adds an additional natural ingredient to the typical salicylic acid. I plan to use the system every other day and monitor my results for 4 weeks. I also want to continue using my moisturizers because my skin is already chapped from the wintery PA weather. I am more excited than ever to continue this system and see how it works. I know it’s kind of gross to talk about, but for the end result, I think it’s totally worth it!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

