Skip to content

Burst My Bubble

December 17, 2009

What is our fascination with bubbles?  Did you ever play Poppit? Seriously! We have games where all you do is pop bubbles! I know my sister and I could never turn down the opportunity to jump on a piece of bubble wrap when we were little. So what is about bubbles that captivates us? I don’t know if I will ever know.

One thing I do know is that in cleaning, I associate bubbles with cleaning ability.  The more bubbles a soap produces, the better it works.   When I first started trying all of these green cleaning products, I tried a liquid dish detergent. I put it on a wash cloth and washed a few plates and immediately decided that I didn’t like it.  It didn’t make enough bubbles, but when I talked to my friend who has been using these products for years, she said she loved it!

So, this week I decided that I need to give this soap a chance.  I mean I am going to be eating off my dishes, so shouldn’t I be using non-toxic cleaners on them?  Well, last night I filled up my sink with warm water and some of this soap.  My sister just gave me her old food processor, and it had collected more than a little dust.  I took the whole thing apart and threw the parts in my soapy water.  I let them soak for about 10 minutes while I started dinner.  Bacon, Brocolli, and Noodles. Now, in this recipe, I had to cut a whole package of bacon with my kitchen shears.  When I got done, my hands and the scissors were covered in grease. I threw the scissors in the water and decided it was time for one of my tests.   Everyone wants soap that can cut through grease.  So I shoved my hands in the water, swished them around and rinsed them in the faucet.  Wouldn’t you know it, no grease.  I didn’t even have to scrub!  I wiped down the scissors, rinsed them, and they were clean as well.  This soap passed that test with flying colors!

So, at this point, I needed to clean the food processor parts.  Even though it had been sitting for about 15 minutes at this point, there were still bubbles.  I used the soapy rag to wipe down the base of the processor, and it looked good as new.  Test two, passed!

My final test was two-fold.  I wanted to see just how long the bubbles would last, and I wanted so see how the soap did with the pots and pans from dinner.  So I just left the sink full while I finished cooking dinner.  Thirty minutes later, we were ready to eat.  I sat down with my boyfriend, ate dinner, and finally decided I better clean up.

The water still had bubbles in it even though I had first filled it over an hour before.  It was a little chilly, so I warmed it up with some hot water from the faucet.  I about fell over when new bubbles started forming from the flow of water!  I don’t know how I thought this soap didn’t bubble. I cleaned both large pots that I had used to make dinner.  Even the burned on grease and bacon on the bottom of the pan came off with a sponge.

I am happy to say that I have switched my liquid dish cleaner to my eco-friendly brand.  And I didn’t even have to compromise my love for bubbles!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

